Portraits of Yeshua (Jesus) Messiah

exodus 12In Scripture, a “type” is a divinely purposed illustration of some truth. It may be: (1) a person; (2) an event; (3) a thing; (4) an institution; or (5) a ceremony. Types occur most frequently in the Pentateuch, but are found, more sparingly, elsewhere. The antitype, or fulfillment of the type, is found generally in the New Testament Each of the Jewish Festivals are “types” of Jesus Christ and are prophetic portrayals pointing to Jesus as the promised “Anointed One” and King.

The Christian New Testament records the antitype and the claims of Jesus Christ as Himself being the fulfillment of the all of the Law and the Prophets, and that it is Himself who is the Anointed One and Holy One represented in all of the Old Testament feasts, festivals, and holidays.

This page is dedicated to the Old Testament feasts, festivals and holidays.

  • Shabbat aka Sabbath
  • Pesach aka Passover,
  • Shavuot aka Festival of Weeks (Pentecost)
  • Rosh Hashanah aka Feast of Trumpets
  • Hanukkah aka Chanukah
  • Yom Kippur aka Day of Atonement
  • Succoth aka Feast of Tabernacles (Booths)
  • Simcha Torah
  • Purim
  • Chanukah. (Chanukah comes from the books of First and Second Macabees, two of the eleven books that were added to the original Hebrew Scriptures in the first Greek translation, called the Septuagint.)

Many of these Jewish holidays have New Testament Christian counterparts. Examples of New Testament counterparts include:

  • Pesach became for the Christian the memorial called the Last Supper (or Communion, aka “Eucharist” in the Roman Catholic tradition) commemorating the crucifixion of the Lamb of God for the sins of the world, in who’s shed blood is the remission of sin.
  • First Fruits became Easter, commemorating the resurrection of Jesus, the capstone of the Christian faith. For If there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised. And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith. More than that, if Jesus has not been raised, we are then found to be false witnesses about God, for we have testified about God that He raised Christ from the dead. But he did not raise him if in fact the dead are not raised.
  • Shavuot became Pentecost commemorating the revelation of God to followers of Jesus Christ by His sending of His Holy Spirit.

Some of the Holidays are known by their English translations or interpretations:

  • Shabbat is known as Sabbath
  • Rosh HaShannah is called the Feast of Trumpets,
  • Yom Kippor is called the Day of Atonement,
  • Succoth (also Sukkot) is the Feast of Tabernacles or Festival of Booths, and
  • Chanukah (or Hanukkah) is the Feast of Dedication.

Jewish Calendar: When each of the feasts and festivals were ordained by God to be at very specific times of the year, and on specific days. The Jewish Calendar is NOT the same as the traditional “Gregorian” calendar familiar to the world and non-Jews.

Details and how each festival portrays Jesus can be learned by clicking on each of the holidays by which a page is dedicated to the explanation of each holiday. 12/12/2016This is a work in progress, so bear with me as I work to finish this project on this website.

Comments are closed.